Diabetes City.

A recent post on Facebook led me to un-friend, unlike, or block a Diabetes information site.  I felt it was inflamatory ill-advised, and after reading the comments generated by it, I posted my own comment- basically that I was disgusted, and blocked it.

The post produced comments from Type 1’s attacking Type 2’s, and Type 2’s attacking Type 1’s.  And it disgusted me.  I mean, really?  Isn’t this damn disease enough of a pain in the ass (finger?) by itself?  Do we need to be attacking each other?   You don’t see cancer patients arguing over which kind is worse.  Save that energy for the insurance companies for Christ’s sake!

Listen, wether you are a Type 1 or a Type 2 doesn’t matter.

Put simply, we have traveled to the same city, Diabetes City.  Some of us may have driven here, and some of us got to fly here.  But we are BOTH here.  So while you are here stay safe, avoid the bad neighborhoods, pay attention to the road signs, and be nice to those you meet.

Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes are different, and challenging in their own ways, but ultimately the end result is the same.

 

 

Leave a comment